Comic relief

It’s been a hell of a long time since the last post. I have to apologise for that, but in my defence I have been very busy, creating art, book covers for clients, and even creating a comic!

With the world in upheaval because of the Coronavirus pandemic, I’ve been working from home and this has given me time to take the plunge back into comics.

The last time I created any form of comics was about five years ago with the one-shot Bullet Ballerina, written by the late, great Tom Piccirilli and published by SST Publications in the UK. Before that, it was the graphic novel Witch Hunts.

Since then I’ve had this idea brewing away called Hellhunter, basically a full-on action-horror comic in the vein of Evil Dead and Resident Evil with an executioner style anti-hero. I recently completed the first 20-page introductory issue and the plan is to produce a series of much longer interconnected books. Check out the samples below!

I’m hoping to secure a publisher for the series soon, but it’s been a hell of a lot of fun scripting and drawing the first issue and a massive distraction from the monotony of isolation! I’d love to know what you think of the artwork, so please feel free to drop me a line or comment below.

I’ve also been creating a lot of pre-made book cover designs and some of them I’ve managed to sell. There’s a few below and you can, of course, see more of my work HERE

Feel free to contact me for book cover commissions at greg@darkscrybe.com

Some recent artwork for publishers:

Black Cranes, an Asian-themed horror anthology, coming soon from Omnium Gatherum Books.

Several covers for author Lucas Pederson.

A cover for a role-playing game.

That’s all for now. Please take a moment to follow this blog or my Facebook page. Stay safe!

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Halloween 2019!

Halloween was another huge success here in the land Down Under.

Our street had 16 houses participate in Trick r Treating this year and we had hundreds of hundreds of people of all ages and horror derivation come by. We had 1400 lollies and we gave them all away.

I had a blast scaring people in my 8-foot tall Great Pumpkin costume. People didn’t know if I was a prop or a real person!

I also did a Halloween drawing every day in October for #inktober – you can see them all HERE

Check out the time-lapse video and photos below!

In other news I have two new publications out which contain my artwork – This Sublime Darkness and Other Dark Stories is a collection of seven short tales and I now have a book of my art – Dark Arts – through Blurb – check them out NOW!

Finally if you want to know what I love about creating horror art – you can listen to this podcast interview I did for The Artist Matters

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @gregschapman76 !

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Recent publications

It’s been over a year since my last post (sorry about that), but that’s not to say that I haven’t been busy.

Here’s just a few of the recent art ventures I’ve been engaged in – some for myself and others for publishers and authors:

Revisiting the Undead and Subliminal Reality. These are a couple of book covers I put together for Lycan Valley Press. One of my short stories, “Human Resources” is also included in Revisiting the Undead.

I created a couple of covers for UK author Mark Mcgahan‘s books.

And a couple of covers for IFWG Publishing, including a short story collection by Claire Fitzpatrick and a fun YA book by Lee Murray.

Todd Keisling recently signed on with Silver Shamrock Publishing to publish his novel Devil’s Creek. He saw my artwork on Facebook and just had to have it for the cover. He added some flourishes and I think it turned out pretty well.

Currently, I’m working on a series of chapter heading illustrations for Patrick Frievald’s forthcoming collection In the Garden of Rusting Gods. The cover art by Dean Samed is brilliant! The diversity of stories has made it rather fun for me with the accompanying pen and ink drawings.

My third novel, Netherkind was recently published and I was able to create the cover art for it. You can grab a copy HERE

Recently Thunderstorm books released a signed limited edition of my second novel, The Noctuary: Pandemonium. I was able to create new dustjacket art and the signature sheet. The production values on these Thunderstorm titles are amazing. I hope you’ll check it out.

One other book I just have to mention is my own collection, Vaudeville and Other Nightmares. This is a new edition with new cover art and internal illustrations by me. I really hope you’ll check that one out.

Other pieces I’ve been dabbling in:

Remember if you like my art you can purchase prints and other items from my Society6 page!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Primogen: The Origin of Monsters

About two years ago I offered to provide the cover art for a cool anthology which re-invented the origins of classic monsters of literature.

Two years on, I recently received copies of Primogen: The Origin of Monsters and I’m glad to say it was worth the wait.

Originally conceived by Robert Teun, and now published by Stitched Smile Publications, the book had a few set-backs but to see it in the flesh is quite the reward. I had a great time creating the artwork for each tale and the cover art, trying to capture the quality of the stories within.

Previously released as The Anatomy of Monsters, the book has been fairly well-received but deserves a hell of a lot more attention. There’s some truly awesome writers in here, including Laura Mauro, Brian Hodge, Nicholas Vince, Josh Malerman, and the great Ramsey Campbell. I also have a story of my own within, a re-imagining of the Jekyll and Hyde tale.

 

A link to the gallery of illustrations I created for the book is below.

I hope you’ll consider picking up a copy.

The 18 illustrations I did for the anthology to be published by Stitched Smile Publications in early 2018

Posted by Greg Chapman on Thursday, June 22, 2017

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Service Award from the Horror Writers Association

For about seven years I’ve been creating artwork for the Horror Writers Association. Since the late great Rocky Wood brought me into the inner circle I’ve had the immense privilege of creating website banners, posters, cartoons for the newsletter, or logo designs for their annual StokerCon.

They recently expressed their gratitude by presenting me with the Richard Laymon President’s Award for Services to the HWA at the 2018 StokerCon in Providence, Rhode Island. Unfortunately, I couldn’t make the trip from Australia, but it was great to be honoured by the HWA during the Bram Stoker Awards.

This week I received a care package from the HWA, which included several copies of the Con anthology I provided the cover art and interior art for – and of course the trophy. All the items will proudly sit on my brag shelf at home.

Every time I get an email request from the HWA to do a new graphic it’s a real thrill, because I get the chance to give back to an organisation that has provided so much support and guidance to me over the years. It’s true when they say “you get out what you put in”.

Although the HWA is an association of writers, I’m glad that the organisation has recognised the important role art and design has to play in the horror genre and I hope I get to keep on creating art for the HWA for many more years to come.

You can read the official HWA announcement HERE. To find out more about the HWA visit www.horror.org

Some of my HWA art is below:

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Witch Hunts graphic novel turns 5!

Hard to believe it’s been five years this month since Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times was first published.

This project was a true labour of love; not only my first graphic novel project but mainly because it was the start of a great friendship between the authors, Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton.

Sadly, Rocky lost his battle with Motor Neurone Disease in 2014, but I have no doubt the great man will be smiling down with pride today.

This book received many accolades and attention in the years after its publication, not only receiving the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel in 2013, but also ending up as a required text for a History course at Granite College in New Hampshire and even being banned by Facebook for a short time after being singled out for apparently expressing violence towards women. It even featured as a Jeopardy! question if you can believe it!

Personally, I loved toiling away on this book because it was – and still is – important. It’s unfortunate that witch hunts are still occurring in some countries today. I hope that the graphic novel continues to be read and used as a tool to learn from the past.

If you haven’t read Witch Hunts, I highly recommend picking up a copy in print from Amazon or direct from McFarland Publishers.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Art, art and more art

It’s been quite a while between posts and that’s mainly because I’ve been a tad busy creating fresh book cover art and internal art for various book and magazine publishers.

Here’s some of the stuff I’ve been churning out from the meat grinder.

The biggest project was providing cover art and about 20 internal illustrations for the anthology, “Anatomy of Monsters”, edited by Robert Teun and soon to be released in print and digital from Stitched Smile Publications. The book will feature stories from the likes of Ramsey Campbell, Gary McMahon, Josh Malerman, Brian Hodge, Nicholas Vince, and even one from yours truly! Follow this link for more info

I had a blast working with Robert and SSP to bring these pieces to life and the stories (which reinvent the origins of famous literary and movie monsters) are really fantastic.

Meanwhile, I’ve also supplied some art to Voodoo Press for an upcoming German translation edition of “Milestone”. This follows four other illustrations I created for KPB’s previous book with Voodoo, “Novellas”. Given that I’m not sure if either book is yet released, I can’t show you any of those pieces just yet, but hopefully soon.

Fellow authors and friends, John Dennehy, Craig Saunders and Matthew Tait, as well as the Australian Horror Writers Association, recently had me create some covers for a few their books as well.

Naturally, I’ve created a whole bunch more images for fun (many of these you can find – and BUY – on my Society 6 page), but I do love the challenge of creating book covers and illustrations for other people.

Finally, the most recent piece I created was to accompany Alan Baxter’s Sci-Fi tale, “Once Was Lost” in issue #99 of Aurealis Magazine, which just came out this week! I quite like how it turned out, a nice mix of hand-painted and digital art.

There has been one setback. My 6-year-old i-Mac recently breathed it’s last breath so unfortunately, that has hindered my workload a bit. But the good news is that I will be getting a brand new computer very soon!

With all that said and done, if you are an author or publisher and do need a book cover or illustration done quickly and relatively inexpensively, feel free to contact me via this email.

Now it’s back to the drawing board. 🙂

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment