Art, art and more art

It’s been quite a while between posts and that’s mainly because I’ve been a tad busy creating fresh book cover art and internal art for various book and magazine publishers.

Here’s some of the stuff I’ve been churning out from the meat grinder.

The biggest project was providing cover art and about 20 internal illustrations for the anthology, “Anatomy of Monsters”, edited by Robert Teun and soon to be released in print and digital from Stitched Smile Publications. The book will feature stories from the likes of Ramsey Campbell, Gary McMahon, Josh Malerman, Brian Hodge, Nicholas Vince, and even one from yours truly! Follow this link for more info

I had a blast working with Robert and SSP to bring these pieces to life and the stories (which reinvent the origins of famous literary and movie monsters) are really fantastic.

Meanwhile, I’ve also supplied some art to Voodoo Press for an upcoming German translation edition of “Milestone”. This follows four other illustrations I created for KPB’s previous book with Voodoo, “Novellas”. Given that I’m not sure if either book is yet released, I can’t show you any of those pieces just yet, but hopefully soon.

Fellow authors and friends, John Dennehy, Craig Saunders and Matthew Tait, as well as the Australian Horror Writers Association, recently had me create some covers for a few their books as well.

Naturally, I’ve created a whole bunch more images for fun (many of these you can find – and BUY – on my Society 6 page), but I do love the challenge of creating book covers and illustrations for other people.

Finally, the most recent piece I created was to accompany Alan Baxter’s Sci-Fi tale, “Once Was Lost” in issue #99 of Aurealis Magazine, which just came out this week! I quite like how it turned out, a nice mix of hand-painted and digital art.

There has been one setback. My 6-year-old i-Mac recently breathed it’s last breath so unfortunately, that has hindered my workload a bit. But the good news is that I will be getting a brand new computer very soon!

With all that said and done, if you are an author or publisher and do need a book cover or illustration done quickly and relatively inexpensively, feel free to contact me via this email.

Now it’s back to the drawing board. 🙂

 

 

About darkscrybe

I am a dark fiction author and artist from Central Queensland, Australia. I've penned four novellas: Torment, The Noctuary, Vaudeville and The Last Night of October. I also illustrated the Bram Stoker Award-winning graphic novel, Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art, art and more art

Leave a Reply

